Hendricks County Flyer, Avon, IN

October 23, 2013

BJFL Playoff Results

Hendricks County Flyer

---- — MINOR 2

The Brownsburg second-grade Bill Estes Bears finished its undefeated season with a tournament championship last Wednesday. The 2013 campaign was one full of highlights and the league parity really shone through all season long, creating an extremely exciting playoff atmosphere which was capped by the Bears’ 6-0 overtime win over the Tonn and Blank Construction Steelers.

In the contest, both defenses made it very difficult to move the ball. Hank Giles led the way for the Bears with two interceptions and Jake Dunn scored in overtime on a reverse where a wall of Bears led him into the endzone.

Ja’Ron Cole, Jayson Marks, Nick Johnson, Miles Palmer, Ariyan Balance, Carter Lang, Seth Weedon, Brendan Lattimer, Matthew Gatton, Cameron Edwards, Hank Giles and Jake Dunn were all mebmers of the championship team.

Thanks to the Steelers, Colts, Broncos, Packers and Cowboys for an outstanding season and best of luck to all Bulldogs as they compete moving forward.


The Brownsburg sixth-grade Zavasites.com Lions defeated the OrthoIndy Cowboys 27-0 in the championship game of the Brownsburg Junior Football League Majors Division.

The game was a rematch of a regular season contest where the Cowboys defeated the Lions 13-7 in overtime.

The Lions and Cowboys defenses dominated the first half of the game with the Lions taking a 7-0 lead into halftime on an interception returned for a touchdown.

Cyrus Anton, Daniel Guernsey, Evan McAlister, Luke Leatherman, Miller Peterson, Garrett Vail, and Justin Winkler turned in strong defense performances on defense for the Lions.

The Lions offense kicked into gear during the second haalf with strong blocking from Brycen Cook, Ivan Deerwester, Brayden Galloway, Daniel Grice, and Gavin Wysong.

The Lions offense scored three second half touchdowns on long runs by Leister Perrin and Nicholas Bolden. Bryce Nabors and Eddie Sullivan led the Cowboys on offense and Houston Dickey and Paul Smitm led them on defense.

Special thanks also to the Bears, Broncos, Colts and Steelers for making 2013 a great season in the Majors Division. Best of luck to all of the Bulldogs as they compete moving forward.