Hendricks County Flyer, Avon, IN

December 22, 2013

Avon breaks record, takes county title

By Jake Thompson

AVON — AVON — As the public announcer read off the final scores at the Hendricks County wrestling tournament on Saturday there was little surprise about which team had won.

However, when Avon’s team score came through the speakers, Orioles grappler Quinn Harris shouted out we ‘We beat the record!’

Avon had indeed taken down a mark set by the 1994-95 Plainfield Quakers, a team coached by tournament director Mike Meunier, by two points as the Orioles finished with 251.50 points.

“The kids wrestled very well,” Avon coach Israel Blevins said. “I think our performance at Perry last weekend helped with the kids’ confidence and I hope we continue to build upon this.”

After wining eight consecutive county titles, Danville won its first county crown in 40 years last season and Blevins said he hopes Avon ‘can start to build a new streak.’

Brownsburg (181) finished second and 70.5 points behind the Orioles. Plainfield (128) took third, Cascade (106.5) was fourth, Danville (104) placed fifth and Tri-West (39) finished sixth.

Avon bested the rest of the county competition, finishing with eight champions after sending 10 grapplers to the finals.

Avon dominated the heavier weight classes wining the last five matches of the tournament at 170, 182, 195, 220, and 285-pounds.

Brendon Helm (170) won by fall, Evan Elmore (182) took a decision, Shane Dillehay (195) pinned his opponent, freshman Gunnar Larson (220) finished with a major decision, and Guy Henson (285) won by decision for the Orioles.

Brian Rassbach (113) won by fall as did Harris (132) and Nick Etienne took a decision over his opponent to round out Avon’s champions.

“We thought going into the tournament that we had a chance of winning several weights, but you never know if that’s going to happen,” Blevins said.

Danville, last season’s county champion, had the second most county champions with three.

Brock Hudkins (120) stayed a perfect 15-0 on the season, winning by fall as teammate Elliott Molloy (126) won by technical fall and Kody Caudle (160) won in overtime.

Nick Weaver (106) and CJ Damler (152) were Brownsburg’s champions.

Zach Batts (145) took home Cascade’s lone championship.

County runner-ups included Avon’s Luke Kimery (106) and Marcus Miranda (145); Cascade’s Hunter Fox (113) and Casey Fox (152); Brownsburg’s Connor Allen (120), Troy Owen (126), Stone Neese (182) and Brandon Webber (220); Danville’s Kyle Smith (132); Plainfield’s Corin McKee (138), Dayton Clements (160), Triston Southwood (195) and Bryce Biddle (285); and Tri-West’s Tony Kahl (170).