Hendricks County Flyer, Avon, IN

December 15, 2012

Hoosier Crossroads Conference reorganizing

— The high schools of Avon, Brownsburg, Fishers, Hamilton Southeastern, Noblesville, Westfield, and Zionsville have agreed to end their conference relationship with the three Lafayette area high schools of the Hoosier Crossroads Conference (HCC).

Those Tippecanoe County schools are Lafayette Jefferson, Harrison, and McCutcheon.

“This decision was not arrived at easily or without some angst by the all parties of the seven schools,” Brownsburg principal and current HCC president Bret Daghe said in a press release. “The three Lafayette area schools have been outstanding conference members. The administrators, coaches, athletes, and communities of these three schools have been great partners since the conference began in 2000. They clearly have been more than just competitors; they have been valued friends as well.”

The basis for the decision by the seven schools to leave the HCC was financial in nature. The distance to Lafayette and the related cost of transportation, week day travel times, and the increased marketing opportunities to centralize the conference to the Indianapolis metropolitan area were all factors in the outcome.

Lafayette Jefferson, Harrison, and McCutcheon high schools will not be in the conference as of the 2014-15 school year and the seven metro Indy area schools have committed to remain together to form a new conference affiliation.

The possibility of adding an eighth area school to the conference will be explored, but not a requirement moving forward.