Hendricks County Flyer, Avon, IN

October 16, 2013

LOR hosts FueLab NMCA World Street Finals

By Brenda L. Holmes brenda.holmes@flyergroup.com
Hendricks County Flyer

---- — BROWNSBURG — Lucas Oil Raceway hosted the 11th annual FueLab NMCA World Street Finals over the weekend, featuring the sixth annual Chevrolet Performance LSX Shootout. The raceway was the scene of the finals last season.

The stars of the show were the street cars for the Tremec Ture Street Competition. This year the car count was up with many of them returning from years past. The cars are required to complete a mandatory 30-mile cruise before their competition.

Former NMRA Pure Street driver Scott Barker introduced his ‘97 Mustang Cobra to the ACT Mean Street. The car’s engine was built as a joint effort with Zimmerman Brothers Racing Engines.

Josh Ritli debuted his ‘69 Camaro in the ARP Nostalgia Pro Street. He and his family spent three years building the car that has a 25.2 cage and four-link suspension. The engine was built by MPG Racing Engines and a nitrous system was set up by Steve Johnson.

Friday night, Bill Glidden was on a pass when his engine gave up, but he was still able to qualify. He and his wife, Shannon, quickly changed engines on Saturday.

John Paulsen brought out his ‘67 Satellite. It was originally his grandfather’s car and was passed down to his father before being passed on to him. The car made laps in the Hawk Performance Open Competition.

Aeromotive Xtreme Street driver John Warren made his first qualifying pass on Friday and then qualified again Saturday.

This year the festivities included the final runs of Black Ice driven by Scotty Heat of Team Heat Dragsters. The vehicle was not in the competition but when it took to the track all eyes were on the jet dragster.

Heat is retiring this dragster after this season. He was able to get it up to 297 miles per hour on Saturday afternoon.

“This is the last weekend for this car,” Heat said. “We have the Air Force car and we’ll be building another car.”

He said he always enjoys coming to Indianapolis and getting time on the strip.

“I just live outside Chicago so this is pretty close to me,” he said. “This car (Black Ice) was once driven by Tony Schumacher. It was also the first car to hit 300 miles per hour in Puerto Rico.”

The LSX Challenge Series was back at LOR and held four events this season with five racing classes. It’s the racing series for street-based vehicles powered by Chevrolet LS and LSX engine family. These racers are in a points competition. It was also the final chance for racers to make their mark this season.

The weekend’s activities included a car show, swap meet, and annual burnout contest.

Champions Winners and runner-ups for the 11th annual FueLab NMCA World Street Finals were: • Kooks Custom Headers Pro Street - Clint Hariston, winner and Randy Adler, runner-up; • Mickey Thompson Super Street 10.5W - Steve Summors, winner and Ed Parker, runner-up; • ARP Nostalgia Pro Street - Skip Basken, winner and Joe Bucavo, runner-up; • Aeromotive Xtreme Street - John Warren, winner and Phil Smith, runner-up; • Stainless Works 275 Drag Radial - Jason Lee winner and Kurt Burton, runner-up; • B&B Race Cars Mean Street - Brandon Alsept, winner and Brian Campbell, runner-up; • Indy Cylinder Head Nostalgia Super Stock - Jeff Roell, winner and Joe Ewing, runner-up; • Eaton Posi Nostalgia Muscle Car - Jerry Stamps, winner and Jacob Weigl, runner-up; • Hawk Performance Open Comp - David Hearn, winner and Tim Swisher, runner-up; • Lakewood EFI Rumble - Bully Copeland, winner and Al Corda, runner-up; • Tremec Transmissions True Street King of Michigan - Seward, winner and Meador, runner-up; • Tremec Transmissions True Street 9 & 10 Second Average - Chaffin, 9-second event winner and Gilbert, 10-second event winner; • Tremec Transmissions True Street 12 & 13 Second Average - Revor, 12-second winner and Brooks, 13-second winner; • Tremec Transmission True Street 14 & 15 Second Average - Fox, 14-second winner and Carver, 15-second winner; • LSX-JE Pistons Drag Radial - Mike Brown, winner and Mark Carlyle, runner up; • LSC-ERL Performance All Motor - Judson Massingill, winner and Greg Delaney, runner up; • LSX-Holley EFI Real Street - Rodney Massengale, winner and Ted Timmerman, runner-up; • Nicholas Massengale, winner and Robin White, runner-up; and • LSX-Nitto Tire 5th Gen Camaro - Louie Filippides, winner and Jon Ebert, runner-up. Editor's note: Information for this article was made available by the NMCA Flowmaster Drag Racing Series website.