Hendricks County Flyer, Avon, IN

November 3, 2010

Washington Township looks toward new vision

By Ryan Palencer

— It’s been a busy year for Republican Don Hodson. Since announcing Nov. 4, 2009, that he would run for Washington Township trustee, he’s been working on his campaign.

That paid off Tuesday, as he took more than 80 percent of the vote.

”It has been a long year, but a good one,” Hodson said. “I’ve met many new friends. I really appreciate the support of the voters and of my kids and family.”

Hodson defeated Ronnie Austin in the primary and then Libertarian Todd Singer on Tuesday.

Hodson said he’s entering the office with one goal.

”I’ve made a promise to leave the township better than the way I found it,” he said.

In addition, Hodson said that he will keep his promise from the primary to appoint a commission study group to find ways to “be more cost effective” in the township. He said that the group will be appointed in the next week. He will also stand by his promise to lower his salary as trustee to $25,800 next year. However, due to rules, the township board members are not able to take their pay cut next year, but will the following, he said.

Hodson will be joined by board members Doug Elmore, Suzanne Conger, and Michael Lynch.

”I’m very excited (to be working with that trio),” Hodson said. “They’re all great minds and they bring diversity. It will not be a rubber stamp board. They are each individual thinking, but we will work very closely.”

The three beat out Democrat Adam Kilbride, who said he has enjoyed the campaign experience.

”It has been a very positive experience,” Kilbride said. “I’ve been excited to get out and meet a lot of people out here in the community. It’s been really energizing. It’s good to give people a choice on the ballot. I think that brings a whole lot of freshness to the whole political process here in our community.”

Kilbride said that he will run again after “getting his feet wet” in this election.

Libertarian Chris Sherman also ran for the board.

Troy Wymer (Brown Township), Judy White (Center Township), Clinton Stoutenour (Clay Township), Joyce Green (Eel River Township), Sharon Fruits (Franklin Township), Ron Myers (Liberty Township), Don Peoples (Lincoln Township), Elvin Ray Cassity (Marion Township), Timothy Griffith (Middle Township), and Paul Brasher (Union Township) all ran unopposed for their township trustee seats.

Republican Chuck Ellis defeated Independent Mike Isaacs to claim the Guilford Township trustee position.

John Gootee, Larry Scott, and Charles Tavel won the Brown Township Board race. James Disney, Beth Harvey, and Patsy Wynn claimed the Center Township Board race. Dawn Cline, David Hodson, and Wayne Johnson took the Clay Township Board. Steve Miller, Michael Schlagel, and Clara Thompson won the Eel River Township Board. Sharen Kay Ryland will sit on the Franklin Township Board. Daniel Kinnamon, Charles Morris, and Tony Perona claimed the Guilford Township Board. Ronnie Jo Cooper and Larry Wineman won the Liberty Township Board. Donald Brooks, Gregory Hauswald, and Emory Lenke took the Lincoln Township Board. Kenneth Mason, Jay Mendenhall, and Darrel Plunkett won the Marion Township Board. Patrick Carmean and Lynn Love claimed the Middle Township Board. Jerry Bowman and Julian Owens won the Union Township Board.