Hendricks County Flyer, Avon, IN

Breaking News


November 3, 2010

Johnson earns re-election bid

DANVILLE — Candidates in most county races ran unopposed with the exception of incumbent Nancy Johnson (R), who was running against Charles Bender (D).

Johnson was able to secure about 70 percent of the vote during this mid-term election to once again represent District 1 on the Hendricks County Council.

“I love being on the council,” Johnson said. “I just feel like it’s giving something to the community. And this is a pretty good county.”

As the only female on the council, she said her perspective is unique.

“I think it’s good to have a woman’s view on the council,” Johnson said.

She said this election was a good one for the Republican party, not only in Hendricks County but across the state and country.

“I saw that the Republicans had won the House at the state,” she said. “That will be a help to all of the counties.”

Johnson said she feels that the Hendricks County Council will continue to be fiscally responsible to the county residents and its employees.

“We are staying within our budget,” she added. “I work with a good bunch of people.”

Bender had thrown his hat into the ring and said the experience was very positive.

“I think I got a lot of support from the Democrat Central Committee,” he said. “I had some generous folks helping me out. We did some good canvassing — going door to door.”

Bender said the only disappointing issue was the disappearance of about a third of his campaign signs.

“Some of them were taken right out of yards,” he said. “I know my opponent is an honorable person. I don’t think she had anything to do with it.”

County candidates running unopposed included Prosecuting Attorney Patricia Ann Baldwin; County Recorder Paul T. Hardin; Sheriff Dave Galloway; County Surveyor David L. Gaston; County Assessor Gail L. Brown; County Commissioner (District 1) Robert L. Gentry; County council member (District 2) Jay R. Puckett; County council member (District 3) Bradley Scott Whicker, and County council member (District 4), Myron C. Anderson.


Text Only
Election 2014