Hendricks County Flyer, Avon, IN


November 3, 2010

Town council works to finish projects it began

For Mike Rogers, winning a seat on the Avon Town Council is something that he has grown accustomed to.

Rogers, who will be the senior member on the board, has served 12 years in that capacity. He can now add four more to his resume, as he defeated Democrat Kashif Khan in Tuesday’s election.

”After serving 12 years on the town council, I have the same enthusiasm as when I came on,” Rogers said. “I appreciate the confidence of the voters in me to serve this community.”

For the Avon council, two of the three members -- Rogers and Bev Austin -- won re-election, while Dave Jackson will replace Greg Zusan, who he defeated in the primary.

Rogers said that the board, with Zusan, came into office with some goals to help the community and he hopes that they can see those come to fruition.

These projects included the council’s work with the county on the Ronald Reagan Parkway, their work with the Redevelopment Commission to bring Ivy Tech to Avon, and their work with Hendricks Regional Health on the new YMCA.

Rogers also said that Zusan has been “a key part” and that he “has a place in leadership and government” in the community.

Khan said the election process was a good experience for him.

”It has been positive for me,” he said. “Just to go out and knock on people’s doors, to get to meet the folks, and get the response has been very exciting. I have been energized by it.”

Khan said that he plans to seriously consider running again.

In the only other opposed race, Republican Bill Majeske defeated Democrat Douglas Joiner in the Pittsboro Town Council race.

In addition, Gary Hood and Dave Richardson won the Brownsburg Town Council, Steve Hartsock and Marcia Lynch won the Danville Town Council, Brad Butler and Debbe Lance claimed the Clayton Town Council, Bob Uhrick won the Lizton Town Council, and Rebecca Compton won the North Salem Town Council.


Text Only
Election 2014